P.O. Box 1495, Venice Florida 34284-1495

An Affiliate of the Military Officers Association of America (MOAA) and The Florida Council of Chapters (FCOC)   MOAA and its Affiliated Chapters and councils are nonpartisan


2017 Recipients

The Chapter is donating $1,000.00 to approved Veteran individuals or entities during the year 2017.  The Veterans Fund Committee has selected "Vets2Chefs" as the recipient of this year's donation.  Chef Bryan Jacobs, a veteran and founder of the organization was our guest speaker at the February 2018 Membership meeting wherein a check was presented to him by the Chapter President and the VF committee. 

 [Carolyn Harrington, Liz Jensen, Bryan Jacobs, Jim Harrington, Marjorie Healey, Ellie Neuwirth] 

 2016 Recipients

The Chapter made donations to three entities during the year.  They are as follows:

[President Dallas Jensen, Veterans' Fund Chair Marjorie Loria Healey, Goodwill Manasota Veterans Programs Director, Staff Sgt. C.J. Bannister, Chapter Treasurer, Pastor Elizabeth M. Jensen]

In November, 2016, the Chapter donated $500.00 to the Goodwill Manasota Veterans Program which assists veterans in need of shelter, clothes, food and medicine.  Goodwill Veterans Affairs Director, Staff Sgt. C.J. Bannister made a strirring presentation as guest speaker at the November membership meeting which prompted the VF committee to make its third donation of the year to this special service.


[Courtesy Website Photo}

In April, 2016 in the amount of $150.00 to PAWS FOR PATRIOTS.  $100.00 goes toward providing monthly heartworm and flea preventatives for a year for a puppy in training.  The remaining $50.00 outfits one litter of puppies with ID tags, microchips, capes and a raiser manual. 

These dogs will be trained to assist veterans suffering from blindness or PTSD.  In addition, their website advised that WWII B-24 Bombadier Irwin Stovroff has donated $170,000 to the organization with the proviso that the funds be used to match all donations up to April 30, 2016.  So our donation will become $300.00.  I confirmed this to be the case with one of their assistants.

Also in April a donation was made to MANASOTA OPERATION TROOP SUPPORT, INC.  This small outfit has several gift descriptions but the one we selected is for $350.00 which will be used to help families of troops while they serve overseas.  We delivered the check on Tuesday, April 26th to its Director Linda Craig and also present was MOTS Board Member and MOAA Bradenton Member Jerry Koontz.  Linda's organization also assists homeless vets with food, medicine and places to stay.  Her desire to help vets comes from personal experience.  Her son was deployed in Iraq when he was shot in the head.  His helmet saved him but now he suffers from severe PTSD.  Linda was our guest speaker at our October meeting and she did a great job.


 [Mike and Marjorie Healey delivered the check to MOTS Director Linda Craig on Tuesday, April 26th.]

 2015 Recipients

We are happy to announce that the first recipient is a Sarasota/Manasota County family who lost all their belongings in a fire on March 11, 2015.   They are Todd and Jessica Hughes, their children Bailey, 8 and Xavier 6.  Both Todd and Jessica are Army veterans.  Todd is a former Student Government President at USF Sarasota-Manatee and currently works in the school’s Veteran Services.  Jessica is a student in the College of Education.  The committee voted to donate $400.00 to the family.

(Pictured are Veterans' Fund Chair, Marjorie Loria Healey, Chapter President, LTC Dallas L. Jensen and SCFF Representative Darlene C. Wedler-Johnson)

The second recipient is the Veterans’ Scholarship Fund at the State College of Florida Foundation (SCFF), Inc.  Through the SCFF, our donation will provide scholarship support for veterans returning to civilian life.  It is our understanding that the Foundation will match dollar-for-dollar donations made to the veteran student program.  The committee voted to donate $200.00 to the program which will be matched by SCFF thus making the total donation $400.00. 

Thank you to committee members, Marjorie Loria Healey, Liz Jensen, Carolyn Harrington and Ellie Neuwirth for working together in this very gratifying endeavor.